Peter Leck

I’m so glad we had our other visitors today. (refer my last blog about "I’m no Pollyanna but.."). It helps to keep things in perspective.
 
Tonight the TV carried the news that Peter Leck, the former (or stood asisde?) manager of the Bundaberg Hospital during the Jayant Patel scandal, would be required to give evidence to the Davies Commission.
 
You may remember that Peter Leck, and the Medical Services Director Dr Daryn Keating, caused the abandonment of the $5 to $6 million dollar Morris enquiry only a matter of weeks ago. When the commission was restarted with (retired) Judge Davies, I think the previous evidence of Peter Leck and Daryn Keating was struck out because of perceived bias by Tony Morris.
 
The latest legal shenannigans have seen Peter Leck using Psychiatrists and Legal reps to try to get out of giving evidence to the Davies enquiry, claiming that he suffered from the Morris enquiry and that his mental health would deteriorate if put through further questioning. Something to that effect anyway.
 
Today Davies announced that he wasn’t fully convinced, and that Leck would still have to give evidence, but it could be in a smaller informal setting, and with no cameras. Audio feed will be available to the public and the media so I guess that’s better than nothing.
 
I think many others share my view that this  Public Servant  appears to be playing the system for all it’s worth – anything and everything to protect himself from any fallout from his own actions. And what’s the bet he’ll end up claiming for an ill-health retirement, or seeking compensation, and living off the public nipple for the rest of his life?  
 
There’s a saying about Scum floating to the top. I’m glad that in the clean cool waters beneath, there are some wonderul people who deserve help a damn sight more than Peter Leck does. The Patel patients are up there at the top of my list.
 
And before I finish my rant, it appears the legal help for each Patel patient will be capped at around $3,000. I wonder if  the Government hasn’t put a cap on the legal costs (taxpayer funded) of Peter Leck and Daryn Keating?
This entry was posted in News and politics. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment